محمود درويش Wingless Birds

Bild5

I come from there

I come from there and I have memories
Born as mortals are, I have a mother
And a house with many windows,
I have brothers, friends,
And a prison cell with a cold window.
Mine is the wave, snatched by sea-gulls,
I have my own view,
And an extra blade of grass.
Mine is the moon at the far edge of the words,
And the bounty of birds,
And the immortal olive tree.
I walked this land before the swords
Turned its living body into a laden table.

I come from there. I render the sky unto her mother
When the sky weeps for her mother.
And I weep to make myself known
To a returning cloud.
I learnt all the words worthy of the court of blood
So that I could break the rule.
I learnt all the words and broke them up
To make a single word: Homeland…..

*************

Identity Card

Record!
I am an Arab
And my identity card is number fifty thousand
I have eight children
And the nineth is coming after a summer
Will you be angry?

Record!
I am an Arab
Employed with fellow workers at a quarry
I have eight children
I get them bread
Garments and books
from the rocks..
I do not supplicate charity at your doors
Nor do I belittle myself at the footsteps of your chamber
So will you be angry?

Record!
I am an Arab
I have a name without a title
Patient in a country
Where people are enraged
My roots
Were entrenched before the birth of time
And before the opening of the eras
Before the pines, and the olive trees
And before the grass grew

My father.. descends from the family of the plow
Not from a privileged class
And my grandfather..was a farmer
Neither well-bred, nor well-born!
Teaches me the pride of the sun
Before teaching me how to read
And my house is like a watchman’s hut
Made of branches and cane
Are you satisfied with my status?
I have a name without a title!

Record!
I am an Arab
You have stolen the orchards of my ancestors
And the land which I cultivated
Along with my children
And you left nothing for us
Except for these rocks..
So will the State take them
As it has been said?!

Therefore!
Record on the top of the first page:
I do not hate poeple
Nor do I encroach
But if I become hungry
The usurper’s flesh will be my food
Beware..
Beware..
Of my hunger
And my anger!

**************
Under siege

Here on the slopes of hills, facing the dusk and the cannon of time
Close to the gardens of broken shadows,
We do what prisoners do,
And what the jobless do:
We cultivate hope.

A country preparing for dawn. We grow less intelligent
For we closely watch the hour of victory:
No night in our night lit up by the shelling
Our enemies are watchful and light the light for us
In the darkness of cellars.

Here there is no “I”.
Here Adam remembers the dust of his clay.

On the verge of death, he says:
I have no trace left to lose:
Free I am so close to my liberty. My future lies in my own hand.
Soon I shall penetrate my life,
I shall be born free and parentless,
And as my name I shall choose azure letters…

You who stand in the doorway, come in,
Drink Arabic coffee with us
And you will sense that you are men like us
You who stand in the doorways of houses
Come out of our morningtimes,
We shall feel reassured to be
Men like you!

When the planes disappear, the white, white doves
Fly off and wash the cheeks of heaven
With unbound wings taking radiance back again, taking possession
Of the ether and of play. Higher, higher still, the white, white doves
Fly off. Ah, if only the sky
Were real .

Cypresses behind the soldiers, minarets protecting
The sky from collapse. Behind the hedge of steel
Soldiers piss—under the watchful eye of a tank—
And the autumnal day ends its golden wandering in
A street as wide as a church after Sunday mass…

If you had contemplated the victim’s face
And thought it through, you would have remembered your mother in the
Gas chamber, you would have been freed from the reason for the rifle
And you would have changed your mind: this is not the way
to find one’s identity again.

The siege is a waiting period
Waiting on the tilted ladder in the middle of the storm.

Alone, we are alone as far down as the sediment
Were it not for the visits of the rainbows.

We have brothers behind this expanse.
Excellent brothers. They love us. They watch us and weep.
Then, in secret, they tell each other:
“Ah! If this siege had been declared…” They do not finish their sentence:
“Don’t abandon us, don’t leave us.”

Our losses: between two and eight martyrs each day.
And ten wounded.
And twenty homes.
And fifty olive trees…
Added to this the structural flaw that
Will arrive at the poem, the play, and the unfinished canvas.

A woman told the cloud: cover my beloved
For my clothing is drenched with his blood.

If you are not rain, my love
Be tree
Sated with fertility, be tree
If you are not tree, my love
Be stone
Saturated with humidity, be stone
If you are not stone, my love
Be moon
In the dream of the beloved woman, be moon
[So spoke a woman
to her son at his funeral]

Oh watchmen! Are you not weary
Of lying in wait for the light in our salt
And of the incandescence of the rose in our wound
Are you not weary, oh watchmen?

A little of this absolute and blue infinity
Would be enough
To lighten the burden of these times
And to cleanse the mire of this place.

It is up to the soul to come down from its mount
And on its silken feet walk
By my side, hand in hand, like two longtime
Friends who share the ancient bread
And the antique glass of wine
May we walk this road together
And then our days will take different directions:
I, beyond nature, which in turn
Will choose to squat on a high-up rock.

On my rubble the shadow grows green,
And the wolf is dozing on the skin of my goat
He dreams as I do, as the angel does
That life is here…not over there.

In the state of siege, time becomes space
Transfixed in its eternity
In the state of siege, space becomes time
That has missed its yesterday and its tomorrow.

The martyr encircles me every time I live a new day
And questions me: Where were you? Take every word
You have given me back to the dictionaries
And relieve the sleepers from the echo’s buzz.

The martyr enlightens me: beyond the expanse
I did not look
For the virgins of immortality for I love life
On earth, amid fig trees and pines,
But I cannot reach it, and then, too, I took aim at it
With my last possession: the blood in the body of azure.

The martyr warned me: Do not believe their ululations
Believe my father when, weeping, he looks at my photograph
How did we trade roles, my son, how did you precede me.
I first, I the first one!

The martyr encircles me: my place and my crude furniture are all that I have changed.
I put a gazelle on my bed,
And a crescent of moon on my finger
To appease my sorrow.

The siege will last in order to convince us we must choose an enslavement that does no harm, in fullest liberty!

Resisting means assuring oneself of the heart’s health,
The health of the testicles and of your tenacious disease:
The disease of hope.

And in what remains of the dawn, I walk toward my exterior
And in what remains of the night, I hear the sound of footsteps inside me.

Greetings to the one who shares with me an attention to
The drunkenness of light, the light of the butterfly, in the
Blackness of this tunnel!

Greetings to the one who shares my glass with me
In the denseness of a night outflanking the two spaces:
Greetings to my apparition.

My friends are always preparing a farewell feast for me,
A soothing grave in the shade of oak trees
A marble epitaph of time
And always I anticipate them at the funeral:
Who then has died…who?

Writing is a puppy biting nothingness
Writing wounds without a trace of blood.

Our cups of coffee. Birds green trees
In the blue shade, the sun gambols from one wall
To another like a gazelle
The water in the clouds has the unlimited shape of what is left to us
Of the sky. And other things of suspended memories
Reveal that this morning is powerful and splendid,
And that we are the guests of eternity.

Translated by Marjolijn De Jager

“Ours is a country of words. Talk, Talk.
Let me rest my road against a stone.”

محمود درويش

Ahmad Al-Za’tar

For two hands, of stone and of thyme
I dedicate this song.. For Ahmad, forgotten between two butterflies
The clouds are gone and have left me homeless, and
The mountains have flung their mantles and concealed me
..From the oozing old wound to the contours of the land I descend, and
The year marked the separation of the sea from the cities of ash, and
I was alone
Again alone
O alone? And Ahmad
Between two bullets was the exile of the sea
A camp grows and gives birth to fighters and to thyme
And an arm becomes strong in forgetfulness
Memory comes from trains that have left and
Platforms that are empty of welcome and of jasmine
In cars, in the landscape of the sea, in the intimate nights of prison cells
In quick liaisons and in the search for truth was
The discovery of self
In every thing, Ahmad found his opposite
For twenty years he was asking
For twenty years he was wandering
For twenty years, and for moments only, his mother gave him birth
In a vessel of banana leaves
And departed
He seeks an identity and is struck by the volcano
The clouds are gone and have left me homeless, and
The mountains have flung their mantles and concealed me
I am Ahmad the Arab, he said
I am the bullets, the oranges and the memory

محمود درويش

I have the wisdom of one condemned…

I have the wisdom of one condemned
to die, I possess nothing so nothing
can possess me and have written my
will in my own blood: ‘O inhabitants of
my song: trust in water’ and I sleep
pierced and crowned by my tomorrow…
I dreamed the earth’s heart is greater
than its map,more clear than its
mirrors and my gallows.

I was lost in a white cloud that carried
me up high as if I were a hoopoe
and the wind itself my wings.
At dawn, the call of the night guard
woke me from my dream, from my
language:You will live another death,
so revise your last will,
the hour of execution is postponed
again. I asked: Until when?
He said: Wait till you have died some
more.I said: I possess nothing so
nothing can possess me and have
written my will in my own blood:
‘O inhabitants of my song: trust in water.’

Your Night Is of Lilac

The night sits wherever you are. Your night
is of lilac. Every now and then a gesture escapes
from the beam of your dimples, breaks the wineglass
and lights up the starlight. And your night is your shadow—
a fairy-tale piece of land to make our dreams
equal. I am not a traveler or a dweller
in your lilac night, I am he who was one day
me. Whenever night grew in you I guessed
the heart’s rank between two grades: neither
the self accepts, nor the soul accepts. But in our bodies
a heaven and an earth embrace. And all of you
is your night … radiant night like planet ink. Night
is the covenant of night, crawling in my body
anesthetized like a fox’s sleepiness. Night diffusing a mystery
that illuminates my language, whenever it is clearer
I become more fearful of a tomorrow in the fist. Night
staring at itself safe and assured in its
endlessness, nothing celebrates it except its mirror
and the ancient shepherd songs in a summer of emperors
who get sick on love. Night that flourished in its Jahili poetry
on the whims of Imru’ el-Qyss and others,
and widened for the dreamers the milk path to a hungry
moon in the remoteness of speech …

The Violins

The violins weep with the Gypsies heading for Andalusia,
the violins cry for the Arabs departing Andalusia.
The violins cry for a lost epoch that will not return,
The violins cry for a lost homeland that could be regained.
The violins burn the forests of the far darkness
the violins wound the horizon, and smell the blood in my veins.
The violins are horses on a string of phantoms, and water groaning,
the violins are a field of wild lilac that move forward and backward.
The violins are a beast tortured by the nails of a woman
who touches and then move away, the violins are an army that builds a grave of marble and melodies.
The violins are the anarchy of hearts picked up by the
wind on a dancer’s foot, the violins are flocks of birds seeking shade under an incomplete banner.
The violins are the complaints of the curled silk on a passionate night,
the violins are the effect of wine denied to an earlier thirst.
The violins follow me, here and there, to avenge me,
the violins are searching to kill me, wherever they find me.
My violins cry for the Arabs departing Andalusia,
the violins weep with the Gypsies heading for Andalusia.

From
A STATE OF SIEGE
(Fragments)

Here, on the slopes of hills,
watching sunsets,
facing the cannons of time,
here by orchards with severed shadows,
we do what prisoners
what the unemployed do:
we nurse hope.

This siege will last until we teach our enemy
selections of pre-Islamic poetry.

Pain is:
when the housewife doesn’t set up the clothesline
in the morning and preoccupies herself with the cleanness of the flag.

The soldiers gauge the distance between being and nothingness
with a tank’s telescope.

We gauge the distance between our bodies and shells
with the sixth sense.

You who stand on our doorstep, come in
and drink with us Arabic coffee
[you might feel you are humans like us].
You who stand on our doorstep
get out of our mornings
so we can be certain
we are humans like you.

Behind the soldiers,
the pine trees and minarets
keep the sky from arching downward.
Behind the iron fence soldiers pee–
guarded by tanks–
and this autumn day keeps up its golden stroll
in a street wide as a church after Sunday prayer.

A humorous writer once said to me:
“If I knew the end, from the beginning,
I would have no business with words.”

The siege will last until those who lay the siege feel,
like the besieged, that boredom is a human attribute.

To resist means to maintain the soundness
of the heart and testicles and your interminable disease:
hope.

Writing is a puppy biting the void;
it wounds without blood.

Our coffee cups, the birds
and green trees with blue shade,
and sun leaping from wall
toward another wall, like a gazelle,
and water in clouds of endless forms
spread across whatever ration of sky is left for us,
and things whose remembrance is deferred
and this morning, strong and luminous—
all beckon we are guests of eternity.

Source: Al Karmel, Fall, 2001.
Translated by Sharif Elmusa

nscris !
Je suis Arabe
Le numéro de ma carte : cinquante mille
Nombre d’enfants : huit
Et le neuvième… arrivera après l’été !
Et te voilà furieux !

Inscris !
Je suis Arabe
Je travaille à la carrière avec mes compagnons de peine
Et j’ai huit bambins
Leur galette de pain
Les vêtements, leur cahier d’écolier
Je les tire des rochers…
Oh ! je n’irai pas quémander l’aumône à ta porte
Je ne me fais pas tout petit au porche de ton palais
Et te voilà furieux !

Inscris !
Je suis Arabe
Sans nom de famille – je suis mon prénom
« Patient infiniment » dans un pays où tous
Vivent sur les braises de la Colère
Mes racines…
Avant la naissance du temps elles prirent pied
Avant l’effusion de la durée
Avant le cyprès et l’olivier
…avant l’éclosion de l’herbe

Mon père… est d’une famille de laboureurs
N’a rien avec messieurs les notables
Mon grand-père était paysan – être
Sans valeur – ni ascendance.
Ma maison, une hutte de gardien
En troncs et en roseaux
Voilà qui je suis – cela te plaît-il ?
Sans nom de famille, je ne suis que mon prénom.

Inscris !
Je suis Arabe
Mes cheveux… couleur du charbon
Mes yeux… couleur de café
Signes particuliers :
Sur la tête un kefiyyé avec son cordon bien serré
Et ma paume est dure comme une pierre
…elle écorche celui qui la serre
La nourriture que je préfère c’est
L’huile d’olive et le thym

Mon adresse :
Je suis d’un village isolé…
Où les rues n’ont plus de noms
Et tous les hommes… à la carrière comme au champ
Aiment bien le communisme
Inscris !
Je suis Arabe
Et te voilà furieux !

Inscris
Que je suis Arabe
Que tu as rafflé les vignes de mes pères
Et la terre que je cultivais
Moi et mes enfants ensemble
Tu nous as tout pris hormis
Pour la survie de mes petits-fils
Les rochers que voici
Mais votre gouvernement va les saisir aussi
…à ce que l’on dit !

DONC

Inscris !
En tête du premier feuillet
Que je n’ai pas de haine pour les hommes
Que je n’assaille personne mais que
Si j’ai faim
Je mange la chair de mon Usurpateur
Gare ! Gare ! Gare
À ma fureur !

Mahmoud Darwich

Born in Al-Barweh near Acre on 13 March 1941; wrote his first poems while in elementary school in the village of Deir Al-Asad; fled with his family to Lebanon during the 1948 War; returned to Palestine in 1949 only to find his village ruined and replaced by an Israeli settlement; became politically active through his poetry (his first collection appeared in 1964) and involvement in the Israeli Communist Party, Rakah, in 1961; worked as the editor of Rakahis newspaper, Al-Ittihad (Unity) for some time; was repeatedly arrested by Israel and put under house arrest; went to Moscow in 1970 to study but left the university after one year and moved to Cairo where he worked for Al-Ahram newspaper; in 1972, moved to Beirut and began to work for the PLO as editor of Sho’un Filastiniyya (Palestinian Affairs Magazine); later was the editor of the Palestinian literary and cultural periodical Al-Karmel; became Director of the Palestinian Research Center in Beirut in 1975; head of The General Association of Palestinian Writers and Journalists; settled in Cyprus after the PLO is expulsion from Lebanon in 1982; became member of the PLO Exec. Committee in 1987 (from which he resigned in Aug. 1993 in opposition to the Oslo Accords and the PLO financial crisis); author of the text of the Declaration of Palestinian Independence (signed by the 19th PNC meeting in Algiers, 15 Nov. 1988); considered moderate in his political thinking and a trusted aide of Pres. Yasser Arafat; lived in Beirut and Paris until he returned to Palestine in 1995 after 24 years in exile and settled in Ramallah; one of nine PLO Exec. Committee members who signed a statement rejecting the Oslo II Agreement on 4 Oct. 1995; editor-in-chief of the literary review Al-Karmel, which resumed publication in Jan. 1997 out of the Sakakini Center in Ramallah; caused controversy in Israel in March 2000, when Israeli Minister of Education Yossi Sarid proposed to include him and other Palestinian poets on the Israeli high school reading list; published some 30 poetry and prose collections, which have been translated into 35 languages, and received several literature prizes, incl. the International Lotus Prize for Poetry (1969), the Ibn Sina Prize (1982), and the Lenin Peace Prize (1983); Lannan Prize for Cultural Freedom (2001); a documentary was produced about him by French TV directed by noted Simone Bitton in 1997; author of The Music of Human Flesh, Selected Poems of Mahmoud Darwish (London: Heinemann, 1980), Sarir Al-Ghariba (Bed of the Stranger, 1998), The Adam of Two Edens (2000); The Ravenis Ink (2001); Stage of Siege (2002), and Unfortunately It Was Paradise (2003), among others; is a commander of the French Order of Arts and Letters and an honorary member of the Sakakini Center, Ramallah. He Died after undergoing open-heart surgery in houston, Texas on Saturday 9th August 2008.

درويش، محمود (1941 – 2008)

قبل أيام من إطلاق ارئيل شارون عملية إسرائيل”الدرع الواقي” وقيام الجيش الإسرائيلي بشن هجومه على مدينة رام الله في الضفة الغربية في 29/آذار, زار المدينة ثمانية مؤلفين من” برلمان الكتاب الدولي”, وكان من ضمنهم الفائزان بجائزة نوبل للآداب ولي شوينكا وجوزيه ساراماغو, وكل من بريتن بريتنباخ, خوان غويتيسولو, ورسل بانكس, قدموا جميعاً استجابة لنداء من الشاعر محمود درويش ليكونوا شاهدين على الاحتلال العسكري .

وذات مساء, أخذهم درويش الذي وجده الروائي الأمريكي بانكس” حزيناً لكن زيارتنا رفعت معنوياته”, إلى تله تطل على القدس عبر مستوطنات يهودية وحواجز للجيش, يقول درويش :
” أردت أن أريهم كيف تهشمت جغرافية فلسطين بالمستوطنات, كما لو أنها المركز وكما لو أن المدن الفلسطينية هامشية”, أضاف” لا دعاية, تركناهم يرون الحقيقة “.

وبينما استذكر بريتنباخ الابارثايد, أجرى بانكس مقارنه مع المحميات الهندية في القرن التاسع عشر, يقول: “روعت وغضبت لمدى الاحتلال المادي, فالمستوطنات مثل مدن الضواحي والقوات العسكرية جاهزة لحمايتها “.

بعد أربعة أيام من قراءة قام بها درويش وضيوفه أمام جمهور بلغ ألف شخص في مسرح القصبة, بدأ الجيش الإسرائيلي عمليته لاقتلاع جذور الانتحاريين, يرى الفلسطينيون الغزو عقوبة جماعية وخطوة لتدمير البنية التحتية لدولتهم الجنينية, ودرويش نفسه الذي كان قد غادر رام الله ليلقي شعره في العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت, لم يستطع العودة, علم أن مركز” السكاكيني الثقافي” حيث يحرر مجلته الأدبية الفصلية “ الكرمل” قد نهب وان مسوداته قد وطئت بالأقدام, يقول درويش” أرادوا إبلاغنا رسالة مفادها أن لا أحد محصن – بما في ذلك الحياة الثقافية”, أضاف” اعتبرت الرسالة شخصية, أعرف أنهم أقوياء ويستطيعون الغزو وقتل أي شخص غير انهم لا يستطيعون تحطيم كلماتي أو احتلالها “.

يبلغ درويش الآن من العمر ستين عاماً, وعرف لأربعين عاماً تقريباً بأنه شاعر فلسطين القومي, وذاك “عبء” يستمتع به ويثور ضده في الوقت نفسه, انه افضل شعراء العالم العربي مبيعاً, وجذبت قراءته لشعره مؤخراً في إستاد بيروت 25000 شخص, أصبحت فلسطين في عمله مجازاً عاماً لفقد عدن, للولادة والعبث, لكرب الانخلاع والمنفى, وهو عند الأستاذ إدوارد سعيد, من جامعة كولومبيا في نيويورك, أروع شاعر عربي, له حضور طاغي في فلسطين وإسرائيل – البلد الذي نشأ فيه لكنه غادر المنفى سنة 1970, وعند سعيد أيضا, فأن شعر درويش” جهد ملحمي لتحويل قصائد الفقدان الغنائية إلى دراما العودة المؤجلة إلى اجل غير محدود”, وتراه الكاتبة أهداف سويف أحد أقوى أصوات المأساة الفلسطينية .

ورغم انه يكتب بالعربية, يقرأ درويش الإنجليزية والفرنسية والعبرية, ومن بين الذين تأثر بهم رامبو وغتزبرغ, ترجمت أعماله إلى كثر من عشرين لغة, وهو افضل من يباع من الشعراء في فرنسا, ورغم ذلك, فأن مختارات قليلة من دواوينه الشعرية العشرين مترجمة إلى الإنجليزية, أحدها Sand  ( 1986 ) الذي ترجمته زوجته الأولى, الكاتبة رنا قباني, وتراه الشاعرة الأمريكية ادرين رتش شاعرا بقامة عالمية ل “مجازفاته الفنية”, وسوف تنشر له دار نشر جامعة كاليفورنيا في الخريف القادم مختارات جديدة من قصائده بعنوان : Unfortunately, It Was Paradise.

ويكشف صوت درويش الجهوري وأداؤه الغنائي موسيقية شعره, ومؤخراً, في فيلادلفيا التي كان فيها ليستلم 360000 دولاراً, جائزة الحرية الثقافية التي تمنحها” مؤسسة لانان”, اعترف درويش ببالغ حزنه وغضبه” للصراع بين السيف والروح” في فلسطين, وقد كتب أخر قصائده” حالة حصار” – التي قرأها في الاحتفال- أثناء الغارات الإسرائيلية في شهر كانون الثاني الماضي. يقول: “ رأيت الدبابات تحت نافذتي, أنا كسول عادة, اكتب في الصباح على طاولة نفسها, لي طقوسي الخاصة, غير إنني خالفتها أثناء الطوارئ, حررت نفسي بالكتابة, توقفت عن رؤية الدبابات – سواء كان ذاك وهما أو قوة الكلمات ”.

في القصيدة, يقول” شهيد ”:
” احب الحياة, على الأرض, بين الصنوبر والتين لكنني ما استطعت إليها سبيلا, ففتشت عنها بأخر ما املك”, ودرويش الذي كتب في صحيفة فلسطينية بعد 11 أيلول” لا شيء يبرر الإرهاب” عارض بوضوح الهجمات على المدنيين وظل صوتا مثابرا يدعوا للتعايش الفلسطيني – الإسرائيلي, وهو يصور على أن العمليات الانتحارية لا تعكس ثقافة موت بل تعكس إحباطا من الاحتلال, يقول :
“ علينا تفهم سبب التراجيديا لا تبريرها, ليس السبب انهم يتطلعون إلى عذارى جميلات في الجنة, كما يصور المستشرقون ذلك, الفلسطينيون يعشقون الحياة, إذا منحناهم أملا – حلاً سياسياً – فسوف يتوقفون عن قتل أنفسهم ”.

وعند ساسون سوميخ, الباحث الإسرائيلي في الأدب العربي في جامعة تل أبيب والذي عرف درويش في ستينات القرن العشرين ويترجم القصيدة إلى العبرية,” تهدف القصيدة إلى الحوار: إنها لا تتكلم عن الإسرائيليين كمجرمين, بل تقول : لم لا يفهمون ؟ لا معنى للقول أن هذا الرجل يكرهنا ”.
ولد درويش سنة 1942 لعائلة مسلمة سنية تملك ارض في قرية الجليل تدعى البروة, أيام الانتداب البريطاني على فلسطين, حين كان في السادسة من عمره, احتل الجيش الإسرائيلي البروة والتحقت عائلة درويش بخروج اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين تقدر الأمم المتحدة عددهم ما بين 72600 –900000، قضت العائلة عاما في لبنان تعيش على عطايا الأمم المتحدة, بعد خلق إسرائيل والحرب الإسرائيلية العربية لسنة 1947, عادت العائلة” بشكل غير شرعي” سنة 1949, لكنها وجدت البروة, مثلها مثل 400 قرية فلسطينية أخرى في الأقل, قد دمرت أفرغت من سكانها العرب, بنيت مستوطنات إسرائيلية على أنقاضها, يقول درويش” عشنا مرة أخرى كلاجئين, وهذه المرة في بلدنا, كانت تلك خبرة جماعية, ولن أنسى أبدا هذا الجرح ”.

يقول درويش, ثاني اكبر أربعة اخوة وثلاث أخوات,فقدت العائلة كل شيء, قلص والده سليم إلى مجرد عامل زراعي: “ اختار جدي العيش فوق تله تطل على أرضه, والى أن توفي, ظل يراقب المهاجرين ( اليهود ) من اليمين يعيشون في أرضه التي لم يكن قادراً على زيارتها ”.

ولأنهم كانوا غائبين أثناء أول إحصاء إسرائيلي للعرب, و لأنهم اعتبروا ” متسللين” غير شرعيين و” غرباء غائبين – حاضرين”, منعت على أفراد العائلة الجنسية الإسرائيلية, تقدموا بطلبات لبطاقات هوية ولكن جواز السفر حجب عن محمود, ” كنت مقيماً وليس مواطناً, ارتحلت ببطاقة سفر”, في مطار باريس سنه 1968, يقول :
” لم يفهموا, أنا عربي, جنسيتي غير محددة, احمل وثيقة سفر إسرائيلية, ولذا رجعت ”.
كانت أمه, حورية لا تحسن القراءة والكتابة, غير أن جده علمه القراءة, ” حلمت أن أكون شاعراً ”,
حين بلغ السابعة من عمره, كان درويش يكتب الشعر, عمل في حيفا صحفياً .
وفي سنة 1961 التحق بالحزب الشيوعي الإسرائيلي,” راكاح”, حيث اختلط العرب واليهود, وعمل فيه محرراً لصحيفته, خضع الفلسطينيون في إسرائيل لقانون الطوارئ العسكري إلى سنة 1966, واحتاجوا تصاريح للسفر داخل البلد, بين سنة 1961 وسنة 1969, سجن لعدة مرات, بتهمة مغادرته حيفا دون تصريح .

حقق له ديواناه” أوراق الزيتون” ( 1964 ) و” عاشق من فلسطين” (1966 ) شهرته شاعر مقاومة, عندما كان في الثانية والعشرين من العمر, أصبحت قصيدة” بطاقة هوية” التي يخاطب فيها شرطياً إسرائيليا” سجل, أنا عربي, ورقم بطاقتي خمسون ألف”. صرخة تحد جماعية, أردت إلي اعتقاله في مكان إقامته سنة 1967 عندما أصبحت أغنية احتجاج, وقصيدة” أمي” التي تتحدث عن حنين ابن سجين إلى خبز أمه وقهوة أمه ,

” كانت اعترافا بسيطا لشاعر يكتب عن حبه لامه, لكنها أصبحت أغنية جماعية, عملي كله شبيه بهذا, أنا لا اقرر تمثيل أي شيء إلا ذاتي, غير أن تلك الذات مليئة بالذاكرة الجماعية ”.

وحسب سعيد, عرفت قصائد درويش الكفاحية المبكرة الوجود الفلسطيني, معيدة التأكيد على الهوية بعد شتات 1948, كان الأول في موجة من الشعراء الذين كتبوا داخل إسرائيل عندما كانت جولدا مائير تصر قائلة
” لا يوجد فلسطينيون” وتزامن ظهور شعر درويش الغنائي مع ولادة الحركة الفلسطينية بعد الهزيمة العربية في حرب الأيام الستة سنة 1967, ورغم ذلك, نفر دائما أن يمدح من منطلق التضامن, يستذكر زكريا محمد الذي كان طالبا في الضفة الغربية في نهاية الستينات من القرن الماضي,” كتب مقالة يقول فيها : نريد منكم الحكم علينا كشعراء, وليس كشعراء مقاومة ”.

وصف درويش الصراع بأنه: “صراع بين ذاكرتين” وتتحدى قصائده المعتقد الصهيوني المجسد في شعر حاييم بيالك” ارض بلا شعب لشعب بلا ارض” وبينما يعجب بالشاعر العبري يهودا عامخاي, يقول” طرح شعره تحدياً لي, لأننا نكتب عن المكان نفسه, يريد استثمار المشهد والتاريخ لصالحة, ويقيمه على هويتي المدمرة, لذا نتنافس :
من مالك لغة هذه الأرض ؟
من يحبها اكثر ؟
من يكتبها افضل ؟ ”
ويضيف :” يصنع الشعر والجمال السلام دائماً, وحين تقرأ شيئا جميلا تجد تعايشا, انه يحطم الجدران.. أنا أنسن الساخر دائما, وحتى أنسن الجندي الإسرائيلي”, الأمر الذي فعله في قصائد من مثل” جندي يحلم بزنابق بيضاء” التي كتبت بعد حرب 1967 فوراً, ينتقد عديد العرب القصيدة, غير انه يقول :” سأواصل انسنة حتى العدو.. كان الأستاذ الأول الذي علمني العبرية يهودياً, كان الحب الأول في حياتي مع فتاة يهودية, كان القاضي الأول الذي زج بي في السجن امرأة يهودية, ولذا فأنني منذ البداية, لم أرد اليهود أما شياطين أو ملائكة بل كائنات إنسانية”, وعديد قصائده موجه إلى عشاق يهود, يقول : هذه القصائد تقف إلى جانب الحب وليس الحرب ”.

منعت عليه الدراسة العليا في إسرائيل, ولذا درس الاقتصاد السياسي في موسكو ستة 1970, لكنه, متحررا من الوهم, غادرها بعد عام, يقول :
“ بالنسبة لشيوعي شاب, موسكو هي الفاتيكان, لكنني اكتشفت إنها ليست جنة”, وفي سنة 1971 التحق بصحيفة” الأهرام” اليومية في القاهرة, وقرر أن لا يعود إلى حيفا, وختم بالشمع على هذا القرار ستة 1973, عندما التحق بمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ومنع من العودة إلى إسرائيل منعا استمر لستة وعشرين عاما .

هذا وقد أدان عديد الفلسطينيين وزملاء من الحزب الشيوعي درويش على هجرة إسرائيل,” كان ذاك القرار اصعب قرار اتخذته في حياتي, لعشرة أعوام لم يسمح لي بمغادرة حيف, وبعد سنة 1967 بقيت قيد الإقامة الجبرية”, ورغم ذلك لا يزال يشعر بالذنب لأنه ترك .

” كنت صغيرا جدا لأرى التوازن بين وقوفي ضد هذه الظروف أو العثور على سماء مفتوحة لجناحي الصغيرين شاعرا, أغوتني المغامرة, غير أن الحكم النهائي لا بد أن يأتي مما فعلته في المنفي”, هل أعطيت اكثر للثقافة الفلسطينية ؟
يقول جميع النقاد أنني لم أضع وقتي ”.
كان منير عكش, محرر القصائد المختارة بالإنجليزية المعنونة : The Adam Of Two Edens( 2001 ), واحدا من بين عدة نقاد حازمين انتقدوا نجاح درويش” المبستر” في حيفا, يقول عكش” كانت شهرته متقدمة على شعره ولكنني اكتشفت في ذلك الحين تململه الفني الرائع, فمع كل ديوان, يفتح مناطق جديدة ”.

ويقول درويش” في الخمسينات ( من القرن العشرين ) آمنا نحن العرب بإمكانية أن يكون الشعر سلاحاً, وان على القصيدة أن تكون واضحة مباشرة, على الشعر الاهتمام بالاجتماعي, ولكن علية الاعتناء بنفسه أيضا, بالجماليات.. آمنت أن افضل شيء في الحياة أن أكون شاعراً, ألان اعرف عذابه, في كل مرة انهي فيها ديوانا, اشعر انه الأول والأخير ”.

في الفترة الممتدة من سنة 1973 إلى سنة 1982 عاش في بيروت, رئيس تحرير لمجلة” شؤون فلسطينية”, واصبح مديراً لمركز أبحاث منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية قبل أن يؤسس مجلة” الكرمل” سنة 1981, بحلول سنة 1977 بيع من دواوينه العربية اكثر من مليون نسخة لكن الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية كانت مندلعة بين سنة 1975 وسنة 1991 ترك بيروت سنة 1982 بعد أن غزا الجيش الإسرائيلي بقيادة ارئيل شارون لبنان وحاصر العاصمة بيروت لشهرين وطرد منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية منها ذبح الكتائبيون, حلفاء إسرائيل, اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في مخيمي صبرا وشتيلا, اصبح درويش” منفيا تائها”, منتقلا من سوريا وقبرص والقاهرة وتونس إلى باريس, ساخرا بمرارة من قارة عربية
” تنام بسرعة في ظل أنظمة قمعية”, قال :
حلت كرة القدم محل فلسطين في حب العرب .
يقول” حررت نفسي من الأوهام كلها, أصبحت ساخراً, أسأل أسئلة عن الحياة مطلقة, لا مجال فيها للأيديولوجية القومية”, وخلال 90 يوما في باريس سنة 1985, كتب رائعته النثرية” ذاكرة للنسيان” (1986), وهي أوديسا سيرة ذاتية على شكل يوميات بيروتية تجري خلال يوم واحد من القصف الإسرائيلي الثقيل في السادس من آب 1982 – يوم هيروشيما .

يبدو درويش غامضاً بشأن ”حادثة” الزواج: ” يقال لي كنت متزوجاً, لكنني لا أتذكر التجربة”. قابل رنا قباني (ابنة أخ الشاعر السوري نزار قباني) في واشنطن سنة 1977 فتزوجا ” لثلاثة أعوام أو أربعة”, غير إنها تركت لتحصل على شهادة الدكتوراه من جامعة كيمبردج” وكان مستحيلاً الاستمرار”. وتزوج لنحو عام في منتصف ثمانينيات القرن العشرين مترجمة مصرية, حياة ألهيني, يقول: ” لم نصب بأية جراح انفصلنا بسلام, لم أتزوج مرة ثالثة, ولن أتزوج, إنني مدمن على الوحدة.. لم أشأ أبدا أن يكون لي أولاد, وقد أكون خائفاً من المسؤولية, ما احتاجه استقرار اكثر, أغير رأيي, أمكنتي, أساليب كتابتي, الشعر محور حياتي, ما يساعد شعري افعله, وما يضره أتجنبه ”.
ويعترف بفشله في الحب كثيراً, ”احب أن أقع في الحب, السمكة علامة برجي (الحوت), عواطفي متقلبة, حين ينتهي الحب, أدرك انه لم يكن حباً, الحب لا بد أن يعاش, لا أن يُتذكر ”.

منفياً في باريس بين سنة 1985 وسنة 1995 راجع درويش أو رفض العديد من قصائده السياسية المباشرة التي كتبها في مرحلة بيروت والتي كان نموذجها بابلو نيرودا التشيلي ولوي اراجون, أحد شعراء المقاومة الفرنسية. وكتب أيضا بعض روائعه : ” أحد عشر كوكباً” سنة 1992 متوالية ”ملحمية غنائية” عن سنة 1492, تاريخ رحلة كولومبوس التي دمرت عالم الأمريكيين الأصليين, وعن طرد العرب من الأندلس, اللتان تماثلان كلاهما النكبة الفلسطينية, كما يصف الفلسطينيون خلق إسرائيل سنة 1948 و”لماذا تركت الحصان وحيداً” سنة 1995 “سيرته الذاتية شعريا”ً .

وما أن اصبح شعره الناضج غير مباشر اكثر, ملمحاً لأساطير متنوعة, شعر درويش بتوتر علاقته مع جمهور متلقيه, يقول عكش, ” بدأ الجمهور يشعر انه أصبح غير مخلص قليلاً لقضيته, غير انه ناضل ليحملهم معه”, وعند درويش” اكبر إنجاز في حياتي كسب ثقة المتلقين, تشاجرنا من قبل: كلمات غيرت أسلوبي, صدموا أرادوا سماع القصائد القديمة, الآن يتوقعون مني التغيير, يطلبون أن لا أعطي أجوبة بل أن اطرح مزيداً من الأسئلة “.

انتخب للجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية سنة 1987, لكنه رأى دوره رمزياً (“ لم اكن أبداً رجل سياسة” ) وحسب وزير الثقافة الفلسطيني في رام الله, ياسر عبد ربه,” انه ليس فناناً منعزلاً”, يتابع الحياة السياسية, ويحاجج ضد المواقف المتطرفة”. هذا وقد كتب درويش إعلان الجزائر,” إعلان الدولة الفلسطينية”, سنة 1988, عندما قبلت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية التعايش مع إسرائيل في حل يقضي بدولتين. صادق رئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية, ياسر عرفات, في القاهرة سنة 1971, و قال عرفات : أستطيع شم عبير الوطن فيك، لكنه رفض عرضه بتنصيبه وزيراً للثقافة .

استقال درويش من اللجنة التنفيذية في اليوم التالي لتوقيع اتفاقية أوسلو سنة 1993 – المرحلة الأولى من إقامة سلطة فلسطينية حاكمة – قائلاً ” استيقظ الفلسطينيون ليجدوا أنفسهم بلا ماض”, رأى صدوعاً في الاتفاقيات وقال إنها لن تنجح, والأرجح أن تصعد الصراع بدلاً من إنتاج دولة فلسطينية قابله للحياة أو سلام دائم, ويقول عبد ربه :” كان متشككا بأوسلو, ويؤسفني القول أن حكمه ثبتت صحته ”.

سمحت اتفاقيات أوسلو لدرويش الانتقال إلى سلطة” الحكم الذاتي” الفلسطينية الجديدة,” صدمتني غزة – لم يكن فيها أي شيء حتى ولا طرق معبدة”, لديه منزل في العصمة الأردنية عمان – بوابة إلى العالم الخارجي – لكنه استقر في رام الله سنة 1996, ورغم ذلك يقول انه لا يزال في المنفى,” المنفى ليس حالا جغرافية, احمله معي أينما كنت, كما احمل وطني”, اصبح وطنه لغة,” بلدا من الكلمات ”.
قابل رجا شحاده, وهو محامي فلسطيني يسكن جوار رام الله, درويش في باريس .
يقول :” بدا مغرماً بالأشياء الناعمة – بالمعيشة الراقية والطعام الجيد ومما يحسب لصالحه انه جاء إلى هنا”, ويقول درويش الذي يعيش من الصحافة والتحرير وبالمثل من بيعات شعره : سأبقى إلى أن تتحرر فلسطين في اليوم اللاحق لحصول الفلسطينيين على دولة مستقلة, لدى الحق بالمغادرة, لكن ليس قبل ذلك ”.
ولقي درويش الذي دافع دوماً عن الحوار مع الإسرائيليين تعاطفاً مع إسرائيل أحيانا باعتباره معتدلاً, ولكن حتى أصدقاءه اليساريين هناك أحرجوا لقصيدة أضرت بسمعته .
” عابرون في كلام عابر” التي كتبها في بداية الانتفاضة الأولى ضد الاحتلال العسكري التي استمرت من 1987 – 1993 كتب يقول : آن أن تنصرفوا وتموتوا أينما شئتم / ولكن لا تقيموا بيننا / آن أن تنصرفوا وتموتوا أينما شئتم / ولكن لا تموتوا بيننا ”.

اقتطف رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي الأسبق, اسحق شامير, القصيدة غاضباً في الكنيست, برلمان إسرائيل : لا يؤثر درويش القصيدة   فهي “غاضبة جداً ومباشرة” ولكنه قال إنها موجهه إلى الجنود الإسرائيليين:”ما زلت أقول أن على إسرائيل الخروج من الأراضي المحتلة, ولكنهم اعتبروها دليلاً على أن الفلسطينيين يريدون إلقاء اليهود في البحر, إذا اعتبروا وجودهم مشروطاً بالاحتلال فانهم يتهمون أنفسهم ”.
هذا وقد خفف الحظر المفروض على زيارة درويش إسرائيل في شهر كانون الثاني 1999 وسمح له بزيارة أمه وأقاربه الذين لا يزالون يعيشون في قرى قرب حيفا, غير أن دخوله منع منذ انطلاقة انتفاضة الأقصى, أو الانتفاضة التي انفجرت في شهر أيلول سنة 2000 عندما دخلت أمه المستشفى لسرطان في معدتها, حاول زيارتها ” لكنهم اتصلوا بالمستشفى وتحققوا إنها لن تموت, ولذا رفضوا إعطائي إذنا.” تعافت لكنه لم يرها لعامين .

أصيب درويش بنوبة قلبية وأجريت له عملية لإنقاذ حياته سنة 1984, وعملية جراحية قلبية أخرى سنة 1998. أثناء عمليته الجراحية الأولى يقول:” توقف قلبي لدقيقتين, أعطوني صدمة كهربائية, ولكنني قبل ذلك رأيت نفسي اسبح فوق غيوم بيضاء, تذكرت طفولتي كلها, استسلمت للموت وشعرت بالألم فقط عندما عدت إلى الحياة ”.

ولكن في المرة الثانية, كان قتالا, ” رأيت نفسي في سجن, وكان الأطباء رجال شرطة يعذبونني, أنا لا أخشى الموت ألان, اكتشفت أمرا أصعب من الموت: فكرة الخلود، أن تكون خالدا هو العذاب الحقيقي, ليست لدي مطالب شخصية من الحياة لأنني أعيش على زمان مستعار, ليست لدي أحلام كبيرة. إنني مكرس لكتابة ما علي كتابته قبل أن اذهب إلى نهايتي ”.

وجب عليه التوقف عن التدخين وان يشرب اقل من القهوة التي يحبها, ويسافر اقل. يقول: ” شهوتي للحياة اقل, أحاول التمتع بكل دقيقة, ولكن بطرق بسيطة جداً, شرب كأس من النبيذ الجيد مع الأصدقاء, التمتع بالطبيعة, مراقبة قطط الحارة, استمتع بشكل افضل, كنت أتحدث, غير أنني أصبحت حكيماً ”.

في ”جدارية 2000” يمعن رجل مريض جداً التفكير بالموت وبفناء الحضارات في عز انتفاضة الأقصى, وفي هذه الجدارية يظهر محمد الدرة, الطفل الذي يبلغ من العمر 12 عاماً ومن إطلق الجنود الإسرائيليون النار عليه ومات بين ذراعي والده كمسيح صغير, ويؤكد درويش الذي يتضمن شعره رمزية توراتية مسيحية ويهودية على موروث له مزدوج ” ليست لدي هوية ثقافية عربية خالصة, أنا نتيجة مزيج حضارات ماضي فلسطين, لا احتكر التاريخ والذاكرة والرب, كما يريد الإسرائيليون أن يفعلوا, انهم يضعون الماضي في ساحة المعركة.” أما وقد غدا ” أكثر حكمة واكبر” مما كان عليه حين نهض لأول مرة لمواجهة التحدي, يقول :” لا احب أن نتقاتل على الماضي, ولندع كل واحد يروي سرده كما يشاء, ولندع السردين يجريان حواراً, وسوف يبتسم التاريخ ”.

وحسب رأي الشاعر زكريا محمد, تسعى قصائد درويش المتأخرة إلى بناء سفر تكوين للفلسطينيين : ” كلها تبدأ : كان شعب وكان ارض…” ومجمل شعره حوار بينه وبين الإسرائيليين للعثورعلى نقطة يستطيعون التصالح عندها .”

في شهر آذار سنة 2000 تورط درويش في” حروب إسرائيل الثقافية” عندما أعلن وزير التربية يوسي ساريد أن خمساً من قصائده ستكون جزءا من مناهج مدرسي متعدد الثقافة – في بلد 19 بالمائة من سكانه الإسرائيليين فلسطينيون وترعرع عديد يهوده أو والديهم في العالم العربي, ثار صخب, قال عضو الكنيست اليميني المتطرف بني آلون ” فقط مجتمع يريد الانتحار يضع” شعر درويش” في منهاجه الدراسي ”.
وقد نجا رئيس وزراء إسرائيل آنذاك, أيهود باراك، من تصويت لطرح الثقة قائلاً:” أن إسرائيل غير مهيأة لهذا الشعر” ويقول درويش,” يدرسون الطلاب أن البلاد كانت فارغة. وإذا درسوا الشعراء الفلسطينيين, فسوف تتحطم هذه المعرفة.” معظم شعري عن حبي لبلدي, مؤخراً ترجمت عدة دواوين من شعره إلى العبرية, ورغم ذلك, يظل وضعه في إسرائيل أسيرا للمناخ السياسي. طالبت الصفحات الأدبية في الصحف باستمرار بترجمة قصائده,” إلا أن كل شيء توقف مع انتفاضة الأقصى” كما يقول تساسون سوميخ .

يقول درويش, ” لدى إسرائيل فرصة جيدة لتعيش بسلام. رغم الظلمة, أري بعض الضوء” ولكن شارون, كما يعتقد يريد جر الصراع ” إلى المربع الأول, وكأنما لم توجد عملية سلام. إنها حرب لأجل الحرب, وليس الصراع صراعاً بين وجودين, كما تحب الحكومة الإسرائيلية تصوير الأمر ”.
وكان ديوان ” سرير الغريبة” 1998، كما يقول, أول كتاب له مكرس للحب كلياً, ورغم ذلك, حتى القدرة على الحب ” شكل من أشكال المقاومة: يفترض أن نكون نحن الفلسطينيين مكرسين لموضوع واحد – تحرير فلسطين, هذا سجن, نحن بشر, نحب، نخاف الموت, نتمتع بأول زهور الربيع, لذا فالتعبير عن هذا مقاومة لان يكون موضوعنا مملا علينا, إذا كتبت قصائد حب فأنني أقاوم الظروف التي لا تسمح لي بكتابة قصائد الحب .”

وقد صدم قراؤه لما رآه البعض تخليا عن القضية, أحد الأصدقاء الإسرائيليين الفلسطينيين, المؤلف انطون شماس, رأى في الديوان” رسالة تحد كئيبة : إلى الجحيم بفلسطين, وأنا الآن على عاتقي.” ورغم ذلك يروي شعر درويش وحضوره في رام الله المحاصرة قصة مختلفة يقول: ” أنتظر اللحظة التي أستطيع فيها القول: إلى الجحيم بفلسطين. ولكن ذاك لن يحصل قبل أن تصبح فلسطين حرة, لا أستطيع تحقيق حريتي الشخصية قبل حرية بلدي. عندما تكون حرة, أستطيع لعنها ”.

محمود درويش

DARWISH, MAHMUD (1942– ) Mahmud
Darwish was born in Palestine when it was a British
mandate. At the age of six he experienced the dispersal

of his people upon the birth of the state of Israel
(1948). The Palestinians had to fl ee or accept subjugation.
Darwish’s family left their village, al-Birwa (near
Acre), for Lebanon to avoid the violence in the expectation
that they would be able to return when the confl
ict was over. When they did return a year later, they
found their village destroyed by the new Zionist state,
and they had become internal refugees in their own
country, denied the status of citizens.
Darwish studied in schools in Galilee and was
harassed and imprisoned several times for asserting
Arab identity and Palestinian rights, but he remembers
gratefully teachers who encouraged him—both Arabs
and Israeli Jews. He started writing poetry at an early
age. His fi rst collection of poetry, ’Asafi r bila ajniha
(Birds without Wings), was published in 1960. His
second collection, Awraq al-Zaytun (Olive Leaves),
published in 1964, made him known widely as a resistance
poet. His confrontational poem in this collection,
“Identity Card,” asserted Palestinian Arab identity
despite Israeli efforts to suppress it.
In 1961 Darwish joined Rakah, the Communist Party
of Israel—arguably the only political organization that
recognized Palestinians as equals. Darwish published
articles and poems in Arabic newspapers and magazines
in Israel and became a coeditor of al-Fajr.
In 1970 he left his occupied country and lived in
different cities: Moscow, Cairo, Beirut, Tunis, and
Paris. In Beirut in the 1970s he worked as editor of the
monthly Shu’un Falastiniyya (Palestinian Affairs) and as
director of the Research Center of the Palestinian Liberation
Organization (PLO). He founded the acclaimed
literary and cultural journal Al-Karmal in 1980 and
continues to be its editor in chief. At present he lives
between Amman, Jordan, and Ramallah, in the occupied
West Bank of Palestine.
In summer 1982 Israel invaded Lebanon and laid
siege to Beirut, where Darwish resided. Darwish wrote
poems that depicted the situation and circulated widely
in the decade that followed. He also wrote the prose
work Dhakira lil-Nisyan (Memory for Forgetfulness)
about besieged Beirut and the Palestinian catastrophe
known as nakba. Following that Darwish had to leave
Beirut, thus adding another exile. He lived in various
cities in Europe and the Middle East. In 1987 he was
selected as a member of the PLO Executive Committee,
but he resigned later in protest against the Oslo Accords
of 1993, which did not restore their legitimate rights to
the Palestinians.
A prolifi c author with about 20 collections of poetry
and more than half a dozen prose works, Darwish is
both a poets’ poet and a national bard. Popular as he is
among general readers, he is also a sophisticated and
multilayered poet whose works attract intellectuals
and critics. He is also known as a signifi cant voice in
Third World literature and is one of the few Arab poets
who has a global readership. When Darwish recites his
poetry at literary festivals, thousands of people attend
what is considered a momentous cultural event. He
communicates intimacy and profundity even when
reading to crowds in huge halls. His poetry has been
discussed in the Israeli Knesset,—including “Passing
among Passing Words,” which commemorates the Palestinian
uprising known as the Intifada. In 2000 Yossi
Sarid, the Israeli minister of education, proposed
including Darwish’s poems in the secondary school
curriculum, but there was strong opposition against
allowing a Palestinian voice to surface.
Darwish’s poetry combines lyricism with symbolism
while staying close to historical events and everyday
concerns. His poems have since developed from the
earlier confrontational statements and explicitly political
works to a more refl ective and philosophical poetics.
Darwish is an educated poet, well-read in different
fi elds and familiar with various poetic traditions and
trends. He admires great poetry whether of the ancients
or the moderns (see, for instance, his “LESSON FROM THE
KAMA SUTRA”). But his favorite poet is Federico García
Lorca, who like Darwish defended the cause of an
oppressed people. In Darwish’s Jidariyya (Mural), published
in 2000 following a serious heart operation, his
poetry reached the heights of the epical with its echoing
of human history and existential questions. In its
focus on the self, Jidariyya inevitably reminds one of
those renowned, long autobiographical poems—Walt
Whitman’s Song of Myself and John Ashbery’s Self-Portrait
in a Convex Mirror, for example. Whitman presents
an imperial self with its all-encompassing
optimistic drive, looking brightly at the future. Ashbury
presents a convoluted self delving ironically and
torturously into the nexus between the past and the
present. Jidariyya, however, presents a vulnerable self.
The confessional element in Darwish’s long poem
stems from admitting human weakness, physical deterioration,
and reluctance to bid farewell to the world.
There is a humanistic strain in Darwish’s poetry
where resistance is divorced from chauvinism, and
where peace is the other face of justice. His longings
for his country are often akin to the lyrical outpouring
of an unrequited lover. His poetry can be read as a
patriotic song for Palestine (see “DIARY OF A PALESTINIAN
WOUND”) or a love poem for an unnamed beloved.
Darwish, unlike other modernist poets, has not broken
ties with the long tradition of Arabic poetry. He
continues to savor prosodic musicality, and his lexicon
is rich and compelling. Yet his concerns are thoroughly
modern and contemporary. His writing articulates eloquently
the frustrations and dreams of his silenced
people, and by extension it expresses those states of
mind of the oppressed and displaced everywhere. His
poems have expressed the tragedy and aspirations of
other people as well as his own. He has written about
the struggle of colonized Africans as well as of North
American Indians. A famous poem that incarnates the
persona of an American Indian, Chief Seattle, addressing
the white man, “Speech of the ‘Red Indian,’ ” contrasts
different philosophies of being, one that believes
in harmony with nature and another that attempts
conquering nature. His poem about the Hoopoe, with
its rich intertextual references, partakes of the vision of
Farid al-Din Attar, the 12th-century Persian poet and
author of the allegorical narrative poem Mantiq al-Tayr
(The Conference of the Birds). Darwish has also been
able to go under the skin of Israeli soldiers, not to
denounce and condemn as in “A SOLDIER DREAMS OF
WHITE TULIPS,” but to represent the pacifi c streak that
is repressed in them by military logic. Darwish’s
humanist drive makes him a poet who listens to the
wretched of the Earth and articulates their agony. His
universal appeal stems from his universal concerns.
Rather than turning the political into the ideological,
he weaves it into a tragic lyricism. Yet hope and passion
never desert his writing. Having lost his physical
homeland, he turned his native language—Arabic—
into a homeland of sorts.
Many of Darwish’s poems have been set to music and
sung by the well-known Lebanese singer associated with
the resistance, Marcel Khalife. The Palestinian-American
critic and theorist Edward W. Said analyzed the poetry
of Darwish and compared it to that of William Butler
Yeats, PABLO NERUDA, FAIZ AHMED FAIZ, and AIMÉ CÉSAIRE.
A documentary fi lm entitled Mahmud Darwich was
produced by French television and directed by Simone
Bitton in 1997. In 2004 Darwish invited a delegation of
internationally renowned writers (including two Nobel
laureates) to occupied Palestine to see for themselves
what Israeli rule meant for indigenous people. The writers
included Russell Banks (United States), BEI DAO
(China), José Saramago (Portugal), and WOLE SOYINKA
(Nigeria). The visit was recorded in a documentary fi lm
directed by Samir Abdallah and José Reynes and entitled
Writers on the Borders.
Mahmud Darwish has received many awards in the
Arab world as well as having been awarded international
honors including the Lotus Prize (1969, Union
of Afro-American Writers), the Lenin Prize for Peace
(1983, USSR), the Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters
(1993, France), the Lannan Foundation Prize for
Cultural Freedom (2002, United States), and the Prince
Claus Fund Principal Award (2004, Netherlands).
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Abou-Bakr, Randa. The Confl ict of Voices in the Poetry of Dennis
Brutus and Mahmud Darwish. Wiesbaden, Germany:
Reichert Verlag, 2004.
Darwish, Mahmud. Selected Poems. Translated by Ian Wedde
and Fawwaz Tuqan. Cheadle Hulme, U.K.: Carcanet
Press, 1973.
———. Splinters of Bone. Translated by B. M. Bennani.
Greenfi eld Center, N.Y.: Greenfi eld Review Press, 1974.
———. The Music of Human Flesh: Poems of the Palestinian
Struggle. Translated by Denys Johnson-Davies. London:
Heinemann, 1980.
———. Sand and Other Poems. Translated by Rana Kabbani.
New York: KPI (distributed by Routledge & Kegan Paul),
1986.
———. [Darwich, Mahmoud]. Palestine mon pays: L’affaire
du poème. Paris: L’Édition de Minuit, 1988.
———. Psalms: Poems. Translated by Ben Bennani. Colorado
Springs, Colo.: Three Continents Press, 1994.
———. Memory for Forgetfulness: August, Beirut 1982. Translated
by Ibrahim Muhari. Berkeley: University of California
Press, 1995.
———. The Adam of Two Edens: Poems. Edited by Munir
Akash and Daniel Moore. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University
Press, 2000.
———. Unfortunately, It Was Paradise. Translated by Munir
Akash and Carolyn Forché. Berkeley: University of California
Press, 2003.
Hafez, Sabry. Mahmud Darwish (in Arabic). Cairo: Dar al-
Fata al-‘Arabi, 1994.
Jayyusi, Salma Khadra. “Introduction: Palestinian Literature
in Modern Times.” Edited by Salma K. Jayyusi, Anthology
of Modern Palestinian Literature. New York: Columbia University
Press, 1992, 1–80.
Said, Edward. “On Mahmud Darwish.” Grand Street 12
(Winter 1994): 12–15.
Saith, Ashwani. “Mahmud Darwish: Hope as Home in the
Eye of the Storm.”

About RAM Chandrakausika राम च 51

Ram51 is a researcher in the various fields of Musicology, Philosophy and History as well as old languages. One of his first topics is the wide scope of Indo-arabic cultures as represented in various art-forms religion and history. Below a list of selected Research topics which sum up partitionally the task of anthropological Frameworks in totaliter : Sanskrit Hinduism and Mythology Hindustani Music, The Muqhal Empire Gharanas from North India Kashmir Sufiyana The Kashmir Santoor Traditional Folk Music from USA Philosophy in Orient and Okzident Genealogy of musical instruments Ethnomusicology, Arabic Maqams, No Theatre fromJapan, North american poetry, Cultural heritage of mankind and Islamic architecture... View all posts by RAM Chandrakausika राम च 51

You must be logged in to post a comment.